Senator Lionell Spruill Endorses Delegate Hala Ayala for Lieutenant Governor

WOODBRIDGE, VA — Today Delegate Hala Ayala’s campaign for Virginia Lieutenant Governor announced the endorsement of State Senator Lionell Spruill Sr. 

“I am so honored to be endorsed by Senator Spruill,” said Delegate Hala Ayala. “Senator Spruill has been a voice of justice and equity for Virginians in the Senate for many years. I have been fortunate to work with him in the Virginia Legislative Black Caucus and look forward to a continued partnership to better the lives of Virginians.”

"I am proud to endorse Delegate Hala Ayala for Lieutenant Governor of Virginia. Hala is exactly the type of leader we need in Richmond." Said Senator Lionell Spruill. "I've seen firsthand the crucial role that the Lieutenant Governor plays in the Senate and we need someone like Hala who can work to build coalitions and get things done. I hope you’ll join me in supporting Delegate Hala Ayala for Lieutenant Governor.”

The Honorable Lionell Spruill, Sr., is a member of the Virginia Senate representing the 5th District which represents part of Chesapeake and Norfolk.  Previously, he served as the House of Delegates representative, serving since 1994.  That district covered parts of Chesapeake and Suffolk. Senator Spruill was born in South Norfolk, on December 28, 1946.  He was one of 15 children.  He retired from Bell Atlantic as a Central Office Technician.  His educational background includes Carver High School and Norfolk State University with an Honorary Doctorate of Laws.

Ayala’s other endorsements include: 

  • Higher Heights for America PAC 
  • Delegate Luke Torian 
  • Delegate Delores McQuinn 
  • Delegate Danica Roem 
  • Delegate Josh Cole
  • Delegate Clint Jenkins
  • Mayor Derrick Wood, Dumfries
  • Mayor Michelle Davis-Younger, Manassas
  • Vice Mayor Monae Nickerson, Dumfries
  • Councilwoman Stephanie Lynch, Richmond
  • Councilman Mike Jones, Richmond
  • Councilwoman Amy Jackson, Alexandria
  • Councilman Mark Wolfe, Manassas City 
  • Supervisor Andrea Bailey, Prince William County 
  • Supervisor Victor Angry, Prince William County 
  • Councilwoman Cyndy Neville, Dumfries 
  • Councilwoman Selonia Miles, Dumfries 
  • Councilman Brian Fields, Dumfries 
  • Vice Chair Barbara Kanninen, Arlington 
  • School Board Member Loree Williams, Prince William County 
  • School Board Member Lillie Jessie, Prince William County 
  • Commonwealth Attorney Bryan Porter, Alexandria 
  • Clerk of Court Greg Parks, Alexandria 
  • Sheriff Alisa Gregory, Henrico 
  • Treasurer Patricia Ritchie Folks, Manassas 
  • Councilman Haseeb Javed, Manassa City Park 
  • Stacey Sher, Executive Producers of FX’s Ms. America and women’s right’s activist 
  • Kim Howard, Former candidate for Senate District 7 
  • Susan Hippen, Former candidate for Senate District 7 
  • Steven Burkarth, Former candidate for Henrico County Board of Supervisors 
  • Marques Jones, Former candidate for Henrico County Board of Supervisors
  • Richard Jessie, Prince William County Community Leader
  • Cozy Bailey, Prince William County NAACP Chapter President 
  • Amanda Linton, Women for Biden State Leader and At-Large Biden Delegate
  • Terron Sims, Vice Chair for DNC Veterans and Military Families Council 
  • Mike Velasquez, Regional Coordinator of DNC Veterans and Military Families Council
  • Lisa Sales, Women's Rights Advocate and At-Large Biden National Delegate
  • Monica Hutchinson, Henrico County Community Leader and At Large Biden Delegate 
  • Ernestine Jenkins, Prince William County Community Leader 
  • Al Brooks, Prince William County Community Leader 
  • Frank Callahan, Henrico County Community Leader 
  • Sara Townsend, Prince William County Leader
  • Jennifer Jessie, Prince William County Leader